









INVESTICE DO ROZVOJE VZDĚLÁVÁNÍ

Canada



Canada is a part of the British Commonwealth of Nations. Its status is a Dominion – the official head of the state is the British Queen Elizabeth II. She is represented in Canada by the Governor General. The actual head of the executive power is the Prime Minister. He selects his own Cabinet. Canada is a federation of 10 provinces. There is a Federal Government for the whole area of Canada and Provincial Governments if there are provinces. The supreme law-making body is the Federal Parliament. It consists of the House of Commons and the Senate. The members of the House of Commons are elected for five years election terms. Members of the Senate are nominated for life long service by the Governor General.

The capital city of Canada is Ottawa. Other big cities are Toronto, Quebec, Montreal, Vancouver, Winnipeg or Calgary.













INVESTICE DO ROZVOJE VZDĚLÁVÁNÍ

Canada is situated on the whole northern part of North America. It is the second largest country in the world with its area of about 10 million square kilometres. The number of population of Canada is about 33 million people. Most people of Canada live in large urban centres located 200 miles of the southern border. The rest of the country is rather cold and these bad living conditions make uninhabitable more than 85% of the land. There are only isolated settlements, trading stations and mining settlements in these areas. More than 40% of the population is of the British origin, 30% of French origin, 20% of German, Italian, Polish and Dutch origin and the rest are Eskimos and Indians. The name Canada is of Indian origin, too. Indians used the word "kanata" which means "village".

The western part of Canada is mountainous and rocky. All the mountain ranges are called the Cordilleras (the Rocky Mountains, Mackenzie Mountains and Melville Hills). The eastern coasts there are the lowlands. Between the mountains on the West and the Eastern coast there are large prairies suitable for agriculture especially for the wheat growing because the soil is very fertile there. Important rivers are: the Mackenzie, Yukon, Franzer, Columbia and the St. Lawrence River. The Great Lakes are situated in the southern part of Canada. They are Lake Superior, Huron, Michigan, Erie and Ontario. Other beautiful lakes are the Lake of Wood, Lake Winnipeg, Reindeer Lake, Athabasca, Great Slave Lake or Great Bear Lake.

The border with the USA, which is the only real neighbor, is made by the 49th paralel from the Pacific Ocean and goes to the East through the Great Lakes and the St. Lawrence River.

Canada consists of 10 provinces and 3 territories. They are: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Prince Edward Island, New Foundland, Quebec, Ontario, Manitoba, Saskatchewan, Alberta and British Columbia. In the northern part of the state there are Yukon Territory and North-West Territory and Nunavut.

Canada is an English and French speaking country. Most inhabitants in Quebec speak French. Originally Canada was called New France because it was a French colony. The first settlers were French arriving from Europe in the 17th century. In 1763 the French were defeated by British and Canada became a British colony. They didn't take part in the War of Independence and remained loyal to Britain. But it doesn't mean they were satisfied with British rule. There was a strong movement for political independence during the 19th century in Canada. This forced Great Britain to establish Canada as a Dominion in 1867. Originally Canada had only 4 provinces: Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec and Ontario. The other British possessions in North America joined Canada later.

Canada's natural recourses are well-known. They are gold, uranium, other metal ores, oil and gas. The main mining province is Alberta. In Montreal and Toronto ships are made and in Chatham and Ottawa is the car industry. Hydroelectric industry is highly developed especially in the provinces of Ontario and Quebec. Ontario and British Columbia with their large forests provide wood for buildings, furniture and paper production. The agriculture products are: wheat, live-stock, oat, vegetable, fruit, tobacco etc.